Home » Captivate » Insert Hyperlinks in a Captivate demo

Insert Hyperlinks in a Captivate demo

You are in Captivate editing a recording and you want to insert a hyperlink. Nothing relevant shows up in the context menu. What do you do?

Follow the steps below:

  • Insert a text caption where you want to insert the hyperlink.
Insert text caption in Captivate

Insert text caption in Captivate

  • Change color of this text and underline it.
Change color of text in Captivate

Change color of text in Captivate

  • Insert a click box overlaying the text caption.
Insert a click box in Captivate

Insert a click box in Captivate

  • Set action of the click box to open a URL. Specify the URL.
Set action of click box in Captivate

Set action of click box in Captivate to create a hyperlink

  • Enable the ‘Show hand cursor over hit area’ option.
Set options of click box in Captivate

Set options of click box in Captivate

That is it! Work further, publish your project, and the link will come out fine in the output.

Wait there a catch, hyperlinks in Captivate generated SWF file do not seem to work when you play the demo in the standalone Flash Player! No there is nothing wrong and you don’t have to go back to Cp project. Security settings in the Flash Player do not allow links in any which SWF file to be even clicked. Imagine if scripts in flash file would click some hyperlink while you are surfing the net! It would become a usability and a security nightmare.

Don’t worry, if you have followed the steps properly, the link comes out just fine in the published output :-)

If you still want to be able to check the output locally check my other post.

I have tested this to work in Cp4 and Cp5. This should work in the other versions too. If you don’t get around to doing it let me know in the comments section below.

Further reading:
Click box in Adobe Captivate 5.

18 thoughts on “Insert Hyperlinks in a Captivate demo

  1. Wow, this just keeps getting better and better, Captivate can’t even do basic hyperlinks, face palm! Guess I’m buying a widget.

  2. Rod,
    Does the AS3 widget for Captivate that you mentioned allow me to test the hyperlink in a browser — and have the hyperlink work as it is supposed to? Without posting the project on a web server first?

    • Thanks for taking a look at this issue, but your solution doesn’t work in Captivate 6, opening the SWF in a browser. The link just doesn’t work.

  3. Good morning Ashish,
    I am grateful that I have found your very useful site. I am responding to a similar issue that Particia Ramirez had on June 8 re: hyperlinks not working over a number of machines.
    I learned how to insert a hyperlink to my CP eLearning module, so thanks for that. Very easy to follow. I still do however have the issue with the hyperlinks not working.
    They work using the trusted site on my local machine, when publishing as a pdf, but fail when publishing as a html. The modules I am creating will be accessed by 200+ machines all over the country, for users with varying levels of computer literacy, so creating a folder for each machine is not really an option, and I missed the solution that you came up with for Patricia.
    Are you able to help, or post the solution?

    Cheers
    David

  4. Hi, I have done this at my job, but the Captivate file doesn’t complete when published in Adobe Connect. I do have the hyperlink on a page with a Continue button. Do you have any ideas?

    Scott Muth

  5. Thanks for all your help on the Flashp player security to allow folder to play properly for hyperlinks. I am currently working on a series of eLearning modules and on the last page of the module a hyperlink to a survey is posted. Students are to take that survey after each module. The flash player fix that you give here works perfect on my computer as my files are sitting in a common drive in my organization. The publishing is done on HTML. When I test it with someone else here in my organization the hyperlink does not work. Help please! =0 thanks so much.

    • Hi Patricia! Glad you liked the resources. It’d help to know how are you testing with others? Are you accessing your HTML files over a network share, or hosting them locally and testing in a browser, or just mailing them the files? In my experience, putting all the published files locally in a folder and making this folder trusted in Flash Player settings (as mentioned in my other blog post) should do the trick. You’ll have to do this Flash Player setting on each machine you test your published files on.

      • Hey Ashish, thanks again! I am testing in my same organization with other co-workers and yes, HTML files are shared over a network share. We are testing the HTML when published. so you are saying putting all the published files i na folder and making this folder trusted in flash player setting should do the trick but also I have to do this flash setting on each machine that the published files are tested on??? if this is the case, how would I put out this eLearning material to external stakeholders?? each of them would need to get instructions to do this? this is cumbersome =( we can have from 20 to 30 participants in one module alone. Please help! =)

      • Let’s do the intermediate talking over emails, You have got my email. For everyone’s benefit we will share here how we made it work :-)

      • Patricia was able to resolve the issue by following the simple guideline: If you are consuming local SWF files from your own machine/hard disk, please rely on trusted folder settings to make the hyperlinks work. If you are viewing SWF files hosted on a webserver, using a browser, then you are good to go!

  6. Hi Rex, I believe you are using Cp. What happens when you host the Flash file online and try it? I hope you are not using any scripts in the Cp source–for they may have an impact on the output.

    If possible please do share your Cp file over on email (blackfog@gmail.com) so that I can take a look at the output. You may want to remove any copyrighted info from the content before sending it to me.

  7. Hi Ashish
    Can you help me?
    I am publishing and no URL link will open. Flash security in 11 seems fine, the links should open but don’t, not on any computer anywhere. Any ideas – I really appreciate any help.
    Rex

  8. Cp now publishes as mp4 besides Flash! It is a YouTube ready format.

    You can use a standalone Flash Player and do away with the browser to play swf files. However, if the file will be seen in a browser by it’s intended audience, I prefer to check the final version in the browser.

    To get the standalone Flash Player, look for the download named Projector, on this page: http://www.adobe.com/support/flashplayer/downloads.html

  9. Exactly, but CP publishes everything to flash. And since the flash player is imbedded into the browser, you get the same error. Thoughts?

  10. Hi Nikin.

    In what format are you publishing your Cp videos in which linsk are not working? If it is running/launching in the browser, it might be a Flash video.

  11. Help.

    I cannot get hyperlinks to work in Captivate 5.0. I located the answer re the fact that it is to do with the security settings in Flash Player. But… I do not even have Flash Player on my machine. I am testing it in an Internet Explorer 8.0 Browser only. Any ideas?

Let's talk

